The History

Sandrine goes piano but sano, preferring to go step by step without haste. All her vintages have the particularity of having a name that comes from the musical vocabulary, because wine is a sparkling music. She played the piano for a long time before continuing her musical experience in champagne. Because a great challenge awaited her: the family vineyard and the very young brand created by her father Bernard in 1970, when he emancipated himself from the cooperative to fly on his own wings. The adventure began humbly with the few family plots of land located on the "terroir de cœur", Mancy - a charming little village where Sandrine was born and lives - enriched with those of Vitry en Perthois located on the slopes of the Vitryat.
Sandrine started working with her father in 1988. She liked the complementarity between the two terroirs that Bernard worked on. 

Before her, her father had made a risky gamble: that of settling on an experimental and pioneering land, because at the time, Vitry's land was allocated for 30 years. At the end of this period, if the result had been inconclusive, everything would have had to be torn up. This was the clause of the contract, the risk to be taken to be entitled to a small part of the dream: to cultivate the land of Champagne. Few dared, he did, the first to plant in these Champagne hillsides, 5 hectares from 1971 to 1974. Long and laborious days. Time proved him right as this Chardonnay terroir is now well known. 

In 1994, Sandrine created her first cuvée, obviously blending Mancy and Vitry chardonnay to obtain an atypical Blanc de blancs and the first Domaine B Girardin champagne with a musical consonance: the Vibrato.  

Of the two original Brut, she kept only one, a champagne she named Appoggiature, a dashing and light-hearted introduction to her range.

 

The estate's first vintage was made in 1998, a fine year to begin the line of Point d'Orgue wines, in which the most beautiful blend of wines from a single year's harvest can be seen.

 

The latest champagne is a very rare - even unique! - sweet: the Rubato. Not half a dry wine, but a sweet champagne, as it was in the past, during the heyday of the Champagne region and its great conquerors, who set out to conquer the world. Rubato was introduced in 2012. It is a champagne on its own, "which assumes with panache its 120 grams and brilliantly displays the unprecedented and perfect balance between wine and sugar". 

Between the chardonnay, the miller and the small touch of pinot noir from Mareuil sur Ay, Sandrine has gradually made its ranges. "Champagne is a music". A timeless music, which leads to exchange, sharing, depth. Something that sounds like happiness... 

Independent 

Champagne grower, and proud of it!

 

IMG_0294.JPG
logo.png

Reception & Visit of cellars:

14, Grande Rue

51530 Mancy

FRANCE

© 2020 par Champagne B. Girardin MENTIONS LEGALES

L'Histoire du Domaine

Préambule

Sandrine va piano mais sano, préférant avancer pas à pas sans précipitation. Toutes ses cuvées ont la particularité de porter un nom relevant du vocabulaire musical, parce que le vin est une musique scintillante. Elle a longtemps joué du piano avant de poursuivre son expérience musicale dans le champagne. Car un défi de taille l’attendait : le vignoble familial et la toute jeune marque créée par son père Bernard en 1970, lorsqu’il s’est émancipé de la coopérative pour voler de ses propres ailes. L’aventure a débuté humblement avec les quelques parcelles de famille situées sur le terroir de cœur, Mancy - charmant petit village où Sandrine est née et vit -  enrichie avec celles de Vitry en Perthois situées sur les coteaux du Vitryat.

Deux terroirs : une complémentarité qui lui plaisait bien.

La passion d'un père

Avant elle, son père avait fait un pari risqué : celui de s’établir sur une terre expérimentale et pionnière, car à l’époque, les terres de Vitry étaient allouées pour 30 ans. Au bout  de cette période, si la qualité des raisins s’était avérée défaillante, l'arrachage était obligatoire. Le risque était grand pour cette part du rêve : cultiver la terre de Champagne. Peu ont osé, lui l’a fait. Le premier à planter dans ces coteaux de Champagne, 5 hectares de 1971 à 1974. De longues et laborieuses journées. Le temps lui a donné raison : ce  terroir de chardonnay  est aujourd’hui reconnu et recherché.

Champagne Domaine B. Girardin - Panneau d'accueil champagne Mancy Vignerons Indépendants
Champagne Domaine B. Girardin - Panneau d'accueil champagne Mancy Vignerons Indépendants

Champagnes et Musique

En 1994, Sandrine crée sa première cuvée et, de toute évidence, en assemblant les chardonnay de Mancy et Vitry en Perthois pour obtenir un Blanc de blancs atypique. Le premier champagne du Domaine B Girardin à consonance musicale : la Vibrato.  

Des deux champagne brut initiaux, elle n’en a gardé qu’un qu'elle  a nommé Appoggiature, une introduction fringante et allègre à sa gamme. 

Le premier millésime du Domaine est réalisé en 1998, une belle année pour commencer la lignée des Point d’Orgue dans lesquels transparait le plus bel assemblage des vins issus d’une seule année de récolte. 

La dernière-née est un très rare -voire unique! – doux : la Rubato. Non pas un demi-sec mais bien un champagne sucré, comme autrefois, du temps des belles heures de la Champagne et de ses grandes Dames conquérantes, lancées à l’assaut du monde. Rubato a été présenté en 2012. C’est un champagne à part, “qui assume avec panache ses 108 grammes et affiche avec brio l’équilibre inédit et parfait entre le vin et le sucre“. 

Champagne Domaine B. Girardin - Panneau d'accueil champagne Mancy Vignerons Indépendants

L'invitation de Sandrine 

Entre le chardonnay, le meunier et la petite touche de pinot noir, Sandrine a fait progressivement ses gammes. Le champagne est une musique. Une musique intemporelle, qui mène à l’échange, au partage, à la profondeur. Quelque chose qui ressemblerait au bonheur ?... 

Vigneron

indépendant, 

et fière

de l'être !

 

Domaine B. Girardin - Vigneron Indépendant de Champagne
IMG_0294.JPG

Cliquez pour découvrir nos cuvées